The Divine Nine

"Each of the nine (9) NPHC organizations evolved during a period when African Americans were being denied essential rights and privileges afforded others. Racial isolation on predominantly white campuses and social barriers of class on all campuses created a need for African Americans to align themselves with other individuals sharing common goals and ideals. With the realization of such a need, the African American (Black) Greek-lettered organization movement took on the persona of a haven and outlet, which could foster brotherhood and sisterhood in the pursuit to bring about social change through the development of social programs that would create positive change for Blacks and the country. Today the need remains the same."

Alpha Phi Alpha was founded in 1906 and was the first greek-level fraternity  for blacks. The Alphas were founded at Cornell University by seven men who recognized the need for a strong bond between brothers. This fraternity develops leaders, promotes brotherhood and academic excellence, while providing service and advocacy for our communities."

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. better known as AKA, was founded on Howard Universities Campus in 1908. This sorority is the first greek-letter organization founded by women of color. AKA's focus on two important themes that have maintained throughout the years. Theme one is the importance of the individual and theme two is the strength of an organization of women of ability and courage.

Kappa Alpha Psi Inc. was founded by ten men at Indiana University on Jan 5,1911. Their motto is to achieve in every field of human endeavor. "To date, KAPPA ALPHA PSI Fraternity is organizationally and administratively mature. It moves steadily toward a tomorrow of promise, productivity and influence."

 The birth of Omega Psi Phi came about on November 21, 1911. This fraternity was founded by three undergraduates at Howard University. The name Omega Psi Phi derived from a Greek phrase meaning "friendship is essential to the soul." Scholarship, manhood, and uplift were picked up as principles. Omega Psi Phi was the first African-American fraternity to be founded at an HBCU. To the date OPP has over 700 chapters throughout nine countries.

Delta Sigma Theta better known as DST, was founded on Jan 13 1913, by 22 women at Howard University. The name became incorporated in 1930. The founders wished to advocate academic excellence and personal assistance. The organization is based upon the Five Point Programmatic Thrust which are: economic development, educational development, international awareness and involvement, physical and mental health, and political awareness and involvement.  

 Phi Beta Sigma came about on Jan 9, 1914, at Howard University by three men who wanted to promote scholarship, brotherhood, and service. The men wanted to be viewed as apart of the general community and not apart from them. They stood on beliefs that men should be judged not by their background, race, or texture of their hair but by merit. The Fraternity's motto is, "Culture For Service and Service For Humanity"

Zeta Phi Beta was founded Jan 16, 1920, at Howard University by 5 co-eds, who are also known as the Five Pearls. This organization is the first greek-letter group to create a chapter in Africa in 1948. "Zeta Phi Beta Sorority was founded on the simple belief that sorority elitism and socializing should not overshadow the real mission for progressive organizations - to address societal mores, ills, prejudices, poverty, and health concerns of the day."

This organization was formed on November  12, 1922 by 12 women educators in Indianapolis, Indiana. They are leading as a national service organization and is continuing to grown through sisterhood, scholarship, and service. "Sigma Gamma Rho offers its members opportunities to develop their unique talents through leadership training and involvement in sorority activities. Sorority activities provide an atmosphere where friendships and professional contacts are developed which often lead to bonds that last a lifetime."

  On September 3,1963, Iota Phi Theta, the 5th largest african american fraternity, was founded at Morgan State College. The purpose of this organization is to develop and perpetuate scholarship leadership, citizenship, fidelity, and brotherhood among men today there are more than 250 chapters in 40 states and in North Korea.

Make a Free Website with Yola.